We have noticed that you are using an older browser version

This portal is optimized for the following browser versions:

  • IE - 11
  • Edge 18 or greater
  • Firefox 69 or greater
  • Chrome 77 or greater
  • Safari 13 or greater
  • Opera 63 or greater

Note: We advise you to update to better enjoy navigation in the portal.

Skip to main content

Let us help you reach the information you're looking for. Tell us about yourself! Where are you living or where do you want to go?

If you didn't find what you are looking for, please report here.

Tens de seleccionar pelo menos uma opção

Need help? Please, click on this icon!

European Elections

    • European parliamentary elections take place every five years.
    • Voters must be at least 17 years old on election day in order to be eligible to vote in European elections. EU nationals who have been disqualified from voting in their member state of origin are not allowed to vote in Greece.
    • EU citizens wanting to stand for election must be at least 25 years of age and not be disqualified from voting in their member state of origin.
European Parliamentary Elections

Electoral System

Elections will take place using direct, universal, secret ballot in line with the provisions of the election legislation currently in effect.

EU citizens of other Member States are also entitled to vote provided:

  • They reside in Greece and will reach the age of 18 years in the election year (until December 31 of that year). In the 2014 elections to the European Parliament, those born on or before 31.12.1996 are eligible to vote
  • They have not been deprived of the right to vote both in Greece and the Member State of Origin
  • They have been registered on the special electoral rolls of the municipality of Nea Smyrni

Voters should go to the polling station and present themselves to the returning board which will examine their identification and verify whether they are registered in the electoral rolls.

Voters should identify themselves by presenting their police ID cards to the returning board.

Voters who don't have ID cards, in order to be identified have to present a temporary certificate of the competent authority or their passport or their driving license or their personal health booklet issued by any insurance fund.

EU citizens should identify themselves by presenting a valid identity document (passport or ID card).


Did you notice a mistake in the existing content? Help us improve it by reporting the mistake and/or suggesting a correction. You didn't find the language you were looking for? Help us reach more people by translating the content yourself!

translation – übersetzung ; oversættelse - prijevod - traducción - traduzione ; vertaling – tłumaczenie - tradução – traducere – tõlge – μετάφραση – fordítás – tulkojums – vertimas – traduzzjoni – översättning – çeviri – käännös – превод – překlad – aistriúchán – prijevod – Iwwersetzung

Approach is a collaborative system.

Are you coming from a European country and  living in Nea Smyrni still several years?

Please share your experience !

Help new Nea Smyrni Citizen of you country by translating these pages into your native language and giving some tips.

How to proceed ? Ask for an account here.

Build your custom guide for

Select the introduction or any other information sections to add to your custom guide. Look for the printer icon at the top of the page to print or download your guide.

Select All | Deselect All | Invert Selection



Please select at least one box to print later!

Go Top